Quick Thoughts: “Mossflower”

“Mossflower (Redwall #2)” by Brian Jacques

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Anastasia!

Summary from Amazaon:

The thrilling prequel to “Redwall”. The clever and greedy wildcat Tsarmina becomes ruler of all Mossflower Woods and is determined to govern the peaceful woodlanders with an iron paw. The brave mouse Martin and quick-talking mouse thief Gonff meet in the depths of Kotir Castle’s dungeon. The two escape and resolve to end Tsarmina’s tyrannical rule. Joined by Kinny the mole, Martin and Gonff set off on a dangerous quest for Salamandastron, where they are convinced that their only hope, Boar the Fighter, still lives.

review

I want to like the Redwall books. I really do. I’m just having a super hard time of getting into the books.

  1. It’s a series but not in the usual sense. Each book is a standalone book so it’s really hard to connect to the characters. I think this is the only book to have a reoccurring character. (Martin)
  2. The style is not for me. I find it to be difficult reading. Maybe difficult isn’t the right word. I just can’t get my rhythm going so it’s difficult reading. (It reminds me of The Fellowship of the Ring in that sense.) I think it’s almost overly descriptive for my taste.
  3. One of my biggest pet peeves is when authors use slang (and slang spelling) in their dialogue. I have way too hard of a time attempting to decipher what is being said. That means I have to skim so I ended up skimming a lot. (I skimmed a lot of the book because I couldn’t get into it and I was ready to be done with it.)

The story really wasn’t bad. It was just slow for my tastes. Not to mention this type of book really isn’t my thing. I thought I would try this book just to be sure and now I know. I can’t pinpoint exactly what it is that doesn’t mesh well with me though. I wish I knew what it was. [Maybe there’s just not enough action or fantastical creatures for my taste?]

Please don’t let me turn you off of the book(s) though. I know so many people love them. You just need to try it for yourself.

The bottom line? It’s another solid book from the Redwall world. Sadly it’s just not for me.

 

2 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts: “Mossflower”

  1. I really want to like the Redwall series, too. I keep buying the books and planning to read them, but then I remember when I was 13 and reading them for the first time and having to pretend to absolutely adore them because my best friend loved them, when really I just thought they were okay, and then I am consumed with guilt and decide to read something else instead. I just don’t think that anthropomorphic animals books are for me? Excepting Watership Down, which I love. (It has bunnies!)

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

