Book Review: “The Maze Runner”

“The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1)” by James Dashner

Genre: Young Adult Fiction,  Science Fiction, Dystopia

Other Maze Runner books

Source: I redeemed my Buzz Bucks on Random Buzzers for it.

Summary from Goodreads:

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

review

I have this rule for myself. If I read about the first third of a book and the book really isn’t grabbing my attention or I don’t like it, I stop reading it. Well, I’m glad I didn’t stick to the rule for this book. I really, really didn’t like the beginning of the book. There’s way too much that’s not known and not explained. Everyone’s anger is high which just causes hatred towards each other. Occasionally being kept in the dark will keep the reader’s interest but in the case of this book, it just pisses me off.

I suppose the characters are written fine because I do understand their annoyance and anger but I still don’t understand why no one would sit down and explain what little they do know. That always annoys me with books. Why can’t people show a bit of compassion when everyone’s world is turned upside down and they have already been through that? Sadly, I’m not really attached to any one. I’m more interested in what’s going on rather than the people. I wasn’t upset when characters died. I was way more interested in what their death means in terms of the story.

With all that being said, once you get past the first hundred or so pages things start to get better (in my opinion). The reader starts to get the hang of the slang (even if they don’t understand all of it) and get a bit familiar with the world Dashner has created. Once you’re familiar with the world, your mind is spinning trying to figure out what’s going on. The Maze Runner is a bit different than most dystopian books that I read because their world isn’t the ‘natural’ world so to speak. They were put there. Things didn’t naturally evolve to bring these kids to this place. The mystery of how and why the boys are there is pretty intriguing and keeps you reading. I liked the twist of being put into a horrible situation.

Overall, I wasn’t really ‘wowed’ with the story or the plot. Maybe I have burned myself of on dystopian fiction (which is a really good possibility). The story wasn’t bad but it wasn’t really good either. It’s just a good, fun book to pass the time.

I wasn’t wild about the ending. I predicted the basics of the ending fairly early on so I wasn’t surprised at how things ended up. I am interested in continuing on with the series in the future though.

Rating 3/5

 

7 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Maze Runner”

  1. Ugh. I don’t usually hang in that long before I toss it in for something else. Thanks for your review. I guess I will get this one at the library and go from there.
    I see that you are reading a classic. *smiles* I love the classics. I am forever working on my 1001 books list.

    • Part of the reason I held on was because so many people did seem to enjoy it. I had to see what the buzz was about!
      I enjoy classics too! Having free access to classics through Kindle had definitely encouraged me to read quite a bit more.

  2. The Maze Runner is fantastic! Unlike many other reviews on this book I actually enjoyed the Plot, Characters, and I do enjoy the language. I simply think that some reviews are too critical, the reviews sound desperate as of trying to grasp a foothold on something bad in the book. The first in this trilogy is to make you think. I have read the whole series and I have post-read depression. Good thing that the prequel is to come out soon. As of characters they are mysterious, but you do get attached. Overall 5/5 I have read these books over and over just loving how the whole series builds and builds. Give it a try if you are fans of Hunger Games. Now for an example of the Glader language: Shuck those other guys who give this book a bad review, Those stupid slintheads have no idea a good book when they see one! You’ll say good that when you read these books!

  3. Pingback: The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1) by James Dashner « The Sleepless Reader

    • I don’t love many books so I’m flexible with choosing to continue a story. If I have an enjoyable enough time, I’m willing to consider continuing the series. That being said, no I still haven’t read the next book. Too many other interesting books competing for my interests!

  4. Pingback: Movie Review: The Maze Runner | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

