Book Review: “The Dig”

“The Dig” by Audrey Hart

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy

Source: The author [Thank you!]

Summary from Goodreads:

Out of time and out of her element, teenager Zoe Calder finds herself in ancient Greece, battling against the power of the Olympians and the vengeance of a scorned goddess—all for the strange and mysterious boy she has come to love.

review

Take one part Percy Jackson + a dash of time travel + mix well with equal parts romance and adventure and you get The Dig.

This was a really fun book. Zoe’s voice reminded me of Piper and Hazel from Rick Riordan’s The Heroes of Olympus series. I liked that she was a fairly take charge kind of girl. She was able to kick a good amount of butt on her own but falters a bit when around Zeus. I just wish she had more confidence in herself. Zeus was something completely new! Like most people, I’ve always pictured him as an old, grumpy man so seeing him as a teenager was different. I know the reader is supposed to like him but didn’t like him too much. Maybe it was too much like Twilight (a wayyyy older man falling for a young girl) but it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

It was interesting to see Hart’s take on mythology. It was fun to see Olympus like a high school complete with cliques. I was a bit disappointed that the book didn’t further explain everyone’s hatred of Zoe. I understand that having a new person come into your tight group after 500 years is difficult but I felt like there was more behind it. I’m also getting tired of Hera being the bad guy especially on Zeus related matters. Hello, they are married and he’s just a giant skeeze. I’d be pretty pissed at my husband and his lady of the day too.

I was initially worried about the romance but it really wasn’t too bad. Yes there were some sickeningly sweet moments but they were mixed in with action and running so things balanced out perfectly. As someone who’s not a romance fan, it was done in a way that really didn’t bother me too much. I was a bit annoyed at the insta-love though. Can this phase just die already please?

Rating 4/5

It’s a fun fluffy book. For fans of ‘new’ mythology, this is definitely worth picking up!

 

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

