Quick Thoughts: “The New World”

Cover of

Cover via Amazon

“The New World (Chaos Walking #1.5)” by Patrick Ness

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, Dystopia

GoodreadsSource: Freebie download

Other Chaos Walking Books

Summary from Goodreads:

In this dramatic prequel to the award-winning Chaos Walking Trilogy, author Patrick Ness gives us a short story of Viola’s journey to the New World.

review

This is super short, which is why it’s probably free. I didn’t know about this until after I read The Knife of Never Letting Go. Normally, prequels should be read before the first book but I think this was much better after having read book 1. If I had read this first, it would have ruined so much of the mystery and suspense of The Knife of Never Letting Go.

Though this novella is short, it does let you get to know Viola better. It also really helped getting to understand their world better because I still had so many questions at the end of The Knife.

Rating 3/5

Download if you like the series. I would strongly advise you to read book 1 before you read this though.

7 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts: “The New World”

  1. I liked it that the third book in the trilogy revisited the characters we saw first in “The New World”. It made me feel so reassured! Like: Yay, Patrick Ness always knows what’s going on. That pleased me.

  2. Pingback: The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (Chaos Walking #1) « arlasworld

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

