Pottermore: Sorcerer’s Stone chapters 1-9

Well, I finally got my welcome email after waiting for what seems like forever! My username is SeerGoblet155. Feel free to add me! Let me know who you are (you can nickname people so you know who they are).

This is obviously going to contain spoilers so if you don’t want your experience spoiled, stop reading now!

Initial impression

It’s very nice looking but it’s a LOT different than I thought it would be. I was under the impression that it would be a lot like reading a book and then there would be places to explore areas while reading. This it not what it is like.

The book is broken down into chapters and each chapter has a few “moments” or scenes. Each scene is a beautiful illustration. You can zoom in a few times and each zoom allows you to see things you can’t in other perspectives. You’re able to collect some items. Not sure what you can do with them yet. If you look carefully there are things you can interact with.

Within each moment, there is some text so you know what’s going on but fans know the story very well. Each moment has a list of characters, places, objects, and creatures in the moment. You click on each one to read some information about it. Generally it’s just what information is known about it at that moment but with a few things you get a ton of background knowledge. The nice thing is the information builds on itself so you can see past chapters info on the page.

Diagon Alley and Wands

Initially you only have access to a few shops. You go around and buy everything on your shopping list and other things if you want.  You get 500 galleons to buy your things. I wonder if that’s all you get for all 7 books or for each book?

Wand selection is easy enough. You answer a few questions and you get your wand! If you’re curious my wand is Fir with unicorn core, ten and three quarters, hard. On that page you’re given more information about all the elements of the wand and what everything means.

Sorting

Once again you answer a few questions about yourself and you get sorted. After you’re sorted, you get a welcome message from your house with quite a bit of information about what your house is, what qualities people have, etc. I got sorted into Ravenclaw!

The common room isn’t much. There’s a message board type thing where you can post messages to other house members. You can also duel people in there. (Haven’t done that yet)

Spells and Potions

Spells are kind of difficult. I’ve only done one so far but it took me quite a while to master. I’m not going to attempt to explain it. You just need to see it to understand it.

Potions are tricky too. It’s very similar to cooking games. You just need to figure out how to do what they’re asking, which is easier said than done. It looks like you collect items as you go along in the game so you might not have to buy everything to make potions.

Okay that covers the basics of everything I’ve seen so far.

How are you liking it so far?

If you have questions, leave them in the comments and I will answer them as best I can.

4 thoughts on “Pottermore: Sorcerer’s Stone chapters 1-9

  1. I STILL haven’t gotten my email! I see all these people that have started and I’m still waiting…
    It sounds pretty fun.
    I’ve always thought I was a Ravenclaw so I really hope I get in! It would be heartbreaking to get sorted into Slytherin. Seriously, it would be. Gryffindor or Hufflepuff would be ok, but the fit just wouldn’t be right!
    Thanks for writing about what you’ve done/seen so far.

    • You should get it soon! They’re sending out emails daily now.
      Ravenclaw suits me better than Gryffindor. I’m not that brave, ha. It wasn’t a normal personality quiz like you know what answer is for what house. So you never know what will happen!

  2. I’m not brave at all either! I would be the bookworm with the good grades who is creative and can think quickly. That’s why I’ve always felt I was Ravenclaw.
    And I don’t like the backstabbing, manipulative, racist house of Slytherin at all. I know they’re not all “bad” but the personalities there are not people I would fit in with.
    I suppose Hufflepuff would be fine.
    Maybe my email will come tomorrow!!

    • Haha, sounds you like just described me!
      Hufflepuff would be okay but I’ve always felt that was the odds and ends house. If you don’t fit in anywhere else, that’s where you go.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

