Book Review: “Uglies”

Cover of

Cover via Amazon

“Uglies (Uglies Book #1)” by Scott Westerfeld

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science FictionGoodreads

Source: Bought

Other Uglies books

Summary from Goodreads:

Everybody gets to be supermodel gorgeous. What could be wrong with that?

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. Not for her license — for turning pretty. In Tally’s world, your sixteenth birthday brings an operation that turns you from a repellent ugly into a stunningly attractive pretty and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time. In just a few weeks Tally will be there.

But Tally’s new friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to be pretty. She’d rather risk life on the outside. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world — and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. The choice Tally makes changes her world forever.

review

I. Loved. This. Book. I don’t know why it took me so long to read this book.

The world Westerfeld sets up is interesting. Having everyone become beautiful so no one is above any one else is a good idea in theory. This levels the playing field and makes everything even. I, like Tally, was on board for this idea. Then it’s revealed that the surgery makes everyone look very similar to each other. That’s where it starts to get creepy.

I loved how only bits of information were revealed so the world is still very much a mystery. I still have so many questions. I hope the rest of the series answers the questions. I really liked how they poked fun at us. Even though it’s weird to think of us as outdated or archaic.

I’m not sure what I was expecting but I didn’t think the book was going to be so action-y. That was a very pleasant surprise. I guess I expected more science fiction and technology. Don’t get me wrong, there was enough of that in the book. I was just expecting more.

This book is a great blend of genres. It’s got science fiction but not too much. A nice sprinkling of romance but nothing to turn guys off of the book. A good bit of action and adventure to keep the story moving. Of course, teen drama because what YA book would be complete without it?

The underlying message was good but it was done in a way that wasn’t too over the top. It doesn’t beat you over the head with message until you’re black and blue (Yes I’m looking at you, Beauty Queens).

My only problem was the cliffhanger. Thankfully, most of the story was wrapped up but could they have picked a worse place to end?! I was left jaw open in shock at the ending and annoyed there wasn’t more.

Rating 4.5/5

I’m SO glad I bought Pretties and Specials. I can’t wait to read them! I highly recommend Uglies if you haven’t read it yet.

 

21 thoughts on “Book Review: “Uglies”

  1. I am SO glad you loved this book! It is one of my favorites! I loved the action too. And yes, the questions will get answered in the last 2 books.

  2. Man, I remember that cliffhanger, too. I was just upset. Fortunately I had rushed out to buy the other two and finished the entire series in the span of two days. I love Scott Westerfield. I want to read his new books, too. He’s got a great imagination and his prose isn’t flat or breezy to read through like Harry Potter or Twilight (bleh). Definitely a loved book!

      • Definitely. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I had to wait, either. I applaud people who can wait for sequels. For me, if I know there’s a sequel and it’s not written yet, I don’t read the book. Simple as that. Insane? Maybe.

        • I don’t think it’s insane. You’re saving yourself sanity! I read the first book of a series right after it came out last year, loved it, and have been eagerly awaiting the sequel that’s due in less than a month. I will likely gobble it down in a few days and be freaking out for the next book. I’m going to drive myself crazy again!

          • Well that’s the thing. I become like a rabid fangirl chihuahua when I don’t get the sequel. I pour over the great Google for any tidbits or morsels I might be able to content myself with. Never really works, but you know what? I highly doubt I’m going to quit. Haha! But yeah, that’s why I’ve learned to wait. I’m currently seething over the fact that the sequel to this video game I adore isn’t out yet. I think 2012 is too far away.

            • Haha, exactly! Bonus: you’re saving everyone else’s sanity too. If you’re anything like me, you just whine, complain, and obsess until you get it your hands on it and it drives everyone else around you crazy!

              • Oh, definitely. Especially my poor husband. All I’ll do is whine and complain and moan at the author for not writing faster. He just laughs. I get mad because he laughs at my pain. He laughs some more and calls me a silly person. It’s actually really amusing. Haha.

  3. Just stopping by to say hello! This is a great review. Well thought out and informative. I just got a copy of this book and I can’t wait to read it. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting on my review of Delirium. Hope you read more of my posts. I’m a new follower!

  4. Now I am in a club as well!
    I have just finished Uglies in German. Huh, I shouldn’t have let it collect dust for a such long time (I am a book-shoppoholig, every time buy way more than I can read in a short time, lol).
    Easy but not primitive stuff to read, I really enjoyed time being in Westerfeld’s created world, the only moment I didn’t like (ATTENTION, SPOILER IS COMING) was in the end of book, about Maddy working on the drugs. That fact about getting some useful stuff in RUINS… huh???? 300 YEARS are gone since mini – apocalypse. What did she needed for her work then? Fresh squirrel shit?
    *waiting for second volume*

    P.S.: do you have any idea how to update kindle software for pc? I wanted to open it, but got message that it has got expired and I need to update it, but have no clue where and how? O,O

    • Woo!
      I always buy too many books too. 🙂
      Ahh good point. I can’t imagine them being able to find anything useful in the ruins. I would think things are pretty decayed.

      To update it: Does this link for you?
      If not, just type “kindle for pc” into the search bar. You should see a link on the top of the search results.

  5. Pingback: Book Review: “The Blemished” | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

