Listed: Books I Haven’t Read But Really Need To-Part 2

ListedThe Classics Edition

Like many readers I was forced to read books in high school. Usually they were ‘classics’. It’s always debatable whether the books are good or not. What made the whole experience horrible was how the teacher handled it.

You read this book written in difficult language for a teenager with little help from the teacher and then you had to know the book really well in order to take tests and write essays about it. There were many times where I just completely missed the message or what the story was about and did poorly on the assignments. These are the kinds of experiences that turn kids/teenagers off of reading. As a result of these kinds of experiences, I tend to stay away from classics.

Now as an adult, I realize I shouldn’t avoid these books. I have time now so I’m hoping to read more classics than I have before. I’m thinking I’m going to be able to appreciate them more as an adult. Hopefully I can even share some of these with my future children!

Here’s my list of books I think I need to read:

Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie
-Any of the Sherlock Holmes stories by Arthur Conan Doyle
-The Lost World by Arthur Conan Doyle
-The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett
-The Iliad by Homer
-The Odyssey by Homer
Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
-The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett [Currently reading]

I’m sure there are more but these are the ones on my Kindle (yay free public domain books!).

Have you read any of these books? Are they good? Are they as good as everyone claims? Anything I should add to my list?

Are there any classic books that you haven’t read that you feel you need to read? What are they?

Books I Haven’t Read But Really Need To-Part 1

5 thoughts on “Listed: Books I Haven’t Read But Really Need To-Part 2

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen is one you should add to the list. It is a lot easier to read than Dickens (or most authors from that era) and is really a happy cynicism of the pomp and pomposity of how ladies and gentlemen are supposed to behave. It’s a must, IMHO.

    I am mostly a fantasy reader though and so I suggest:-
    Magician by Raymond E Feist
    Ubik by Philip K Dick
    Anything and everything by the very talented Terry Pratchett (Thief of Time is my personal favourite, but anything that has The Anhkmorpork Watch in is also worth it.)

    I also decided to do the ‘classics’ and can safely say it’s a matter of opinion. Neuromancer by William Gibson is a good read, but is in no way a ‘classic’. The same can be said for Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte which is absolutely NOT a love story, but rather a hate story. I haven’t managed to finish that one yet, it makes me angry.

    Lord of the Rings is worth it, I loved every moment of those books, and you can read the Hobbit after, I did, it doesn’t impact on the telling of either story.

    • I just got Pride and Prejudice and sent it to my Kindle.
      I haven’t heard of those books but I will have to check them out. My friend keeps telling me to read Terry Pratchett. I’m hoping to eventually get to it.
      I agree and think a lot of classics are a matter of opinion.

  2. Gosh, I know this situation so well! But in my case it was even more worse, because I was forced to read RUSSIAN CLASSIC LITERATURE and every stuff that belongs to west Europe and USA writers was just like a breath of fresh air!
    Especially my teacher has drove me mad with that traditional fucking question “What do you think the writer wanted to tel us when he wrote this roman/poem/story/whateverthisshitis?”. And there was only one right answer – the opinion of teacher, a specially if teacher was russian ;)))))) So I just stopped reading and as soon as it was possible I have canceled this lesson.
    But know I feel some kind need to read classic again, even russian.
    (Btw, even my grandma, who was russian language teacher (she was an exception out of all rules) thought that many stuff shouldn’t be in a school program because this literature is for ADULT readers and very rare teen would appraise it.)

    Are there any classic books that you haven’t read that you feel you need to read? What are they?
    ahaha, it gonna be a looooong list XDD
    I want to read Remarque, Kafka, Dumas, more from Nabokov, Conan Doyle and so on..
    This is the reason why I so envy speed readers ((

    • That’s really interesting to know that students in other countries go through this as well!
      I agree with your grandma. I took a class for teachers and the professor even brought up the fact that the books that they make kids read are books written for adults by adults. No one under 16 should be forced to read the stuff. Of course they don’t understand it!

  3. and that’s SO strange, because (I don’t know what’s about USA, but in Lithuania as well) the future teachers are studying the psychology too!!! Okay, I understand that one person on the battle-field is not a warrior, but what are thinking about THOSE ppl, who sit THERE just over all of us and create program and tests for students???
    and the “funniest” thing in in this pretty sad story? I DO NOT REMEMBER ANYTHING EXCEPT LITTLE PRINCE AND TWO MORE STORIES WRITTEN BY SOMEONE FROM USA.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

