Book Review: “The Red Pyramid”

Cover of

Cover via Amazon

‘The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles #1)” by Rick Riordan

Genre: Middle Grade Fiction,Fantasy

GoodreadsSource: Library

Other Kane Chronicles books

Summary from Goodreads:

Since their mother’s death, Carter and Sadie have become near strangers. While Sadie has lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, the brilliant Egyptologist, Dr. Julius Kane.

One night, Dr. Kane brings the siblings together for a “research experiment” at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him to oblivion and forces the children to flee for their lives.

Soon, Sadie and Carter discover that the gods of Egypt are waking, and the worst of them —Set— has his sights on the Kanes. To stop him, the siblings embark on a dangerous journey across the globe – a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and their links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs

review

Is this just Percy Jackson with Egyptian mythology? No. This is a completely different series with what I think is a different feeling to it.

I was really disappointed that I could not get into the book at all. It’s not that the book was bad, I just couldn’t connect with it at all.

I think I’ve narrowed my disinterest in the book down to: a) not really being interested in Egyptian mythology and not knowing anything about it; b) not being able to connect to the characters (that might be because this is only the first book in the series and I would connect with them more as I read more of the books); c) the fact that it was 500+ pages.

I’ll probably read the next in the series when I have the time but it won’t be high on my must read list.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Riordan’s books and people who enjoy Young Adult books.

[new addition to the review]

The book was a fun adventure. It really was. Riordan really knows how to write for his audience. I know many people enjoyed the book I can understand why. Now that the second installment it out, I will likely pick it up at some point. The series without a doubt deserves a second chance. I’m really hoping that my ‘problems’ with it were simply speed bumps of a first book in a series. Can anyone vouch for this? Is the new book any good?

Rating

2/5 It wasn’t bad but definitely not something I would re-read. I guess Egyptian mythology and me aren’t the best of friends.

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Red Pyramid”

  1. After reading your reviews (which I really like because we seem to have similar tastes in books), I think this will be toward the bottom of my list too. It’s a shame since I love the Percy Jackson books so much!

    • Don’t judge it based only on my review. I think the deciding factor needs to be how much you like Egyptian mythology. I didn’t like it which is what turned me off of the book.

  2. Pingback: Rick Riordan – The Red Pyramid « Fyrefly's Book Blog

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

