Listed: Books I Haven’t Read But Really Need To-Part 1

ListedI’ve had an odd relationship with reading. I read quite a bit when I was younger and then like most people stopped reading (as much, I did read a bit) in high school. I ended up getting back into reading in college because I hated only reading textbooks all the time. I’ve gradually gotten back into reading since then but it seems like I’ve missed reading books that I feel like I should read but haven’t got around to it yet.

I’m going to use this feature to list these books with the hopes that I will get around to reading these books soon. Feel free to suggest books that people “should” read to me or talk about books that you feel like you should read but haven’t yet in the comments.

The Lord Of The Rings series– J. R. R. Tolkien
[I’ve been reading more and more fantasy books over the years but I’ve never read any of the books before. Sad, I know. Do I need to read The Hobbit first or can I just jump into the series?]

The Chronicles of Narnia series– C. S. Lewis
[I think I read The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe years ago but wasn’t too impressed by it so I never continued with the series. Is it worth it to read the series or was 9 year old me right for stopping?]

The Redwall series- Brian Jacques
[Thanks to Anastasia, I have to the first two books literally in my room so I have no excuse not to read the first two books.]

11 thoughts on “Listed: Books I Haven’t Read But Really Need To-Part 1

  1. I didn’t read the Chronicles of Narnia until a year or two after I finished college and I loved them. I think you could still read them now and enjoy them.

    Lord of the Rings is one that I’ve felt I should read, too, but have never really wanted to. Maybe one day.

    I like this feature – great idea!

    • Ahhh good to know. Chronicles of Naria seems like something I would enjoy but you never know.

      Thanks! It was sparked a bit by the Twitter chat a few days ago. It should work out fairly well because there are so many books that I haven’t read yet.

  2. Hey,
    a friend of mine says you should read or you won’t know where some stuff comes from…
    I did skiped this book and had no problems, but I also didn’t ask myself “hey, where does this come from?”, have just accepted info as it is.
    IMHO, movies are much better than books…

    • Thanks for the advice.
      Really? I rented one of the movies but wasn’t a fan but I accidentally got the directors cut. That may have been the problem.

  3. Actually I have read only first part and a little of second, that was my maximum I could take, lol.
    It contains way too much nature and reconnoitring descriptions. The last one I find even ridiculous. Just imagine, there comes someone and says “hey dudes, I was THERE (somewhere very far away) one month ago and it was clean, no any sign of orks!”, then comes another guy and says something like that…
    I was reading and thinking: WHO CARES HOW DID THAT WAS HALF A YEAR AGO, IF “WE” HAVE TO DECIDE NOW WHERE WE GO, HUUUUUUH????
    It definitely is not mine kind of literature…

    • Haha, I know it’s not for everyone but I think I should at least try to read one of the books before making that decision. It’s probably going to be an on going project.

  4. yep, you are totally right =)
    maybe I will wake up one day and decide to try it one more time.. just like it has happen with “Lolita”. I have tried it when I was 14 years old and after 80 pages I couldn’t force myself to keep reading. But a few weeks ago I have got a strong wish to try it one more time and now I really do enjoy this roman =)

  5. Hi! As for Tolkien, no you don’t have to read The Hobbit in order to understand The Lord of the Rings. But if you’re not used to fantasy books that are heavy on the mythology, you might find The Hobbit to be more accessible; add to this the fact that it’s a single book compared to the trilogy, and that next year we should be seeing the huge movie version directed by Peter Jackson in theaters! If you’ve an interest in fantasy, I recommend all four books. They really are the best of their kind.

    Narnia and Redwall also come highly recommended by me. With Narnia it might help to be aware of the philosophical complexities that C.S. Lewis allegorizes so well throughout his series, but the books were written to be enjoyed purely as stories. For Redwall, I find the earliest books to be the best ones, but every single one is charming and fun. Start either with Redwall or Mossflower to have the series’ basic mythology set up, and after that you can read the books in any order you want.

    I haven’t reviewed any of these yet, but my friend Roseredprince has written some excellent reviews of the Redwall books.

    • Wow, thank you so much for all the advice! That really answers many of the questions I was having about the books. Now I just need to find time to read all the books.

  6. You don’t need to read the Hobbit first, in fact I still haven’t read it despite LotR being one of my favourite book series.
    I got extremely bored with the lion the witch and the wardrobe so it’s not just 9 year old you. I never bothered reading the rest either although I’ve got all the books. I have seen all the movies though and I find them fantastic.
    The Redwall series is BRILLIANT. Definitely recommend it.
    I also recommend the Artemis Fowl series if you haven’t read it already.

    • Thanks for the advice! It’s really interesting to see how people’s opinions differ so greatly.
      I’ve read the first Artemis Fowl book but haven’t got around to the rest of the series.
      Thanks for stopping by!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

