Book Review: “Human.4”

“Human.4” by Mike Lancaster

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction

Source: Anastasia

Other books: The Future We Left Behind

Summary from Goodreads:

Kyle Straker volunteered to be hypnotized at the annual community talent show, expecting the same old lame amateur acts. But when he wakes up, his world will never be the same. Televisions and computers no longer work, but a strange language streams across their screens. Everyone’s behaving oddly. It’s as if Kyle doesn’t exist.

Is this nightmare a result of the hypnosis? Will Kyle wake up with a snap of fingers to roars of laughter? Or is this something much more sinister?

Narrated on a set of found cassette tapes at an unspecified point in the future, Human.4 is an absolutely chilling look at technology gone too far.   

review

If you had told me several years ago that one day I would be a science fiction fan, I would have laughed in your face. Back then my only experience with science fiction were SyFy movies like Ice Spiders and Pterodactyl so of course I wasn’t a fan of science fiction. Several years ago, I discovered Fringe and have been a fan of science fiction since then.

The summary of the book was very enticing and I was hooked by the 3rd chapter. The story was fantastic. While reading I kept comparing the story to an episode of the Twilight Zone or Fringe because it honestly seems like the story was ripped from the screen. [The author even briefly mentions Fringe! +1 for the author] The length was perfect. It was short and to the point and didn’t get too long and drift off. I can’t go into too many details because I’ll ruin the story.

The narration style was fun. There were some times when Kyle talking and Kyle telling the story were a little fuzzy. I’m still not sure how I feel about the “notes” and “Editor’s notes” sprinkled through the book. On one hand, they were funny because they were written by scholars years in the future examining the tapes and explaining things to the people of the day. On the other hand, there were some points there were too frequent and too long so I skimmed over the long ones.

Rating 5/5

If you’re a science fiction fan, pick this up right now.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: “Human.4”

    • Ooooh yeah. My friends and I watched those movies quite often.

      THE GOOD KIND. Uhhh I don’t really know as I’m just starting to get into it. Dystopian books are pretty good. Other than that I don’t know…. Recommend away! 😀

  1. Pingback: If You Like…Doctor Who | The Cheap Reader

  2. I loved Fringe! (Except that last season, but I pretend that never happened) This description makes me really curious as to just what happened. I’m a bit cautious because of the strange narrative style, I like to be ‘in’ the books I read. Nice review! 🙂

  3. Pingback: If You Like…TV Edition Part 4 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

