Quick Thoughts: “Charles and Emma”

Cover of "Charles and Emma: The Darwins' ...

Cover via Amazon

Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith” by Deborah Heilgman

Genre: Non-Fiction, Young Adult

Source:Library

review

-I’m not a fan of most non-fiction. I’m especially not a fan of children’s/young adult non-fiction. It was always seems like the author talks down to the reader in children’s/ young adult non-fiction.

-I hated this book. The entire time it felt like the author was trying way too hard to make this book enjoyable to a younger audience. Her efforts fell flat. I felt like I was 8 years old and the teacher was trying to dumb down things to way below my level while talking to me in a baby voice. Unbelievably annoying.

-I felt the flow of the story was really funky. The book spent a lot of time on some time periods and then skipped large chunks of time only to touch on a year of time before moving on again.

1/5 If this wasn’t required reading for my class, I wouldn’t have finished the book.

One thought on “Quick Thoughts: “Charles and Emma”

  1. Pingback: Book pick for the Week ( 7/4/11 )! « Phillybookpick's Blog

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

