Project: Fairy Tale- Rapunzel

Yep I’m posting a sign up post for my own project. Mainly I wanted a place that I could brainstorm some of my ideas and a place for you to suggest books to me so here it is!

I chose Rapunzel for my fairy tale. I had my choice of all the fairy tales (since this is my project) but there was no big reason that I chose it other than I want to know more her story (and I want to rewatch Tangled).

So here are my plans right now:

 Golden: A Retelling of “Rapunzel” by Cameron Dokey
BTW: Looks like Dokey has quite a few fairy tale retellings if you’re interested

Zel by Donna Jo Napoli

Rapunzel: The One with All the Hair by Wendy Mass

 Into the Wild by Sarah Beth Durst

Of course those are subject to change. Hopefully I can find them at the library.

As for other posts, I think I’m going to do one (or maybe a few) Versus or comparing/contrasting posts about the retellings and the original story.

I plan to also do a Versus post on Tangled and the original fairy tale.

Do you have any suggestions for books for me to read?

19 thoughts on “Project: Fairy Tale- Rapunzel

  1. YAY I’m getting so excited for this!!! Sadly I don’t know a lot about Rapunzel. But I’m really excited to get started on all of my Cinderella stuff. If I wasn’t doing a bunch of Halloween stuff for the blog, I’d totally start right now :)

  2. I don’t know if you are at all interested in picture books, but there is a beautifully illustrated (it won the Caldecott Award) version of Rapunzel by Paul Zelinsky. The illustrations are gorgeous, and very fairytale-esque. Also, there is another picture book of Rapunzel by Rachel Isadora. What I LOVE about that one, is that the characters are African. The illustrations are great, too, although nothing like Zelinsky’s.

    I love the movie Tangled! Have you seen the Faerie Tale Theatre version of Raunzel. You should check that one out too. It more closely follows the original story than Tangled does. But I like Tangled better :)

    I am so excited about this project!! Do you know if we are posting out reviews and stuff in February or March, yet?

    • Wow, thanks for the tips Quinn! Those both sound really cool.

      I haven’t seen that. I love that there’s a lot I could do for this project. Now I just need to narrow my choices down a bit.

      I don’t know yet. I should probably make it a poll and have everyone vote on it. I’ll try to do that soon.

  3. Yay for Zel! That is one of my FAVORITE books from when I was a teen. While it keeps the Rapunzel fairytale, it definitely goes off in this deeper, somewhat darker, tangent. I hope you enjoy it.

    Also, now I want to watch Tangled. Love that movie!

  4. Pingback: Weekend Ramblings: NOVEMBER « Excellent Library

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

