This Week (29)

It’s been a busy week here at The Cheap Reader. I had a brilliant idea for a blog project on Sunday and quickly worked to put it together.

Project: Fairy Tale is now looking for bloggers to help out. The basic idea is each blogger reads a fairy tale and then reads several retellings of the the fairy tale. They post reviews of the fairy tale and the retellings as well as any other posts they want to do about their fairy tale. This way we can learn about many different fairy tales without having to read all of them!

Books Acquired*

UnWholly by Neal Shusterman [library] We’re reading Unwind for BHA this month so when I saw this at the library I knew I needed to grab it. I was only half way through Unwind when I got it but boy am I glad I have it now.

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan [gift] It’s a very belated birthday gift but it’s finally here!

Reading Plans

I started UnWholly last week. It’s pretty good so far. I’ll continue reading it on my lunch breaks.

I started reading The Mark of Athena yesterday. I’m loving it so far. I read about half of it yesterday.

If I get through that I’ll pick up HP and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I need to get back on track for the Harry Potter read along.

What did you get this past week? What are you planning on reading this week?

*I’m linking up to Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and Showcase Sunday hosted by Books, Biscuits, & Tea. I miss seeing all the good books people get! I’m sure my TBR list doesn’t miss it though.

16 thoughts on “This Week (29)

      • Another Rick Riordan fan here – I love his clever way with words! I am a huge amazon shopper, and his little bit on Seattle in the last book made me laugh aloud with his incredible wit. I loved Percy Jackson, and am loving the Heroes of Olympus as well. I’m not as crazy for the Egyptian series, although it is definitely well-done.

  1. I’m a huge Shusterman fan myself, and look forward to hearing your thoughts on UnWholly; I really enjoyed it. After those two, I’d highly recommend The Mindjackers Trilogy (starting with Everlost). They are fabulous

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

