Hidden in the Shelves (22)

Hidden in the Shelves is a feature where I show off a discovery (or rediscovery) that I came across while shelving books for work.

A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond

Mr. and Mrs. Brown first met Paddington, a most endearing bear from Darkest Peruon a railway platform in London. A sign hanging around his neck said, “Please look after this bear. Thank you” So that is just what they did.

From the very first night when he attempted his first bath and ended up nearly flooding the house, Paddington was seldom far from imminent disaster. Jonathan and Judy were delighted with this havoc and even Mr. and Mrs. Brown had to admit that life seemed to be more filled with adventure when there was a bear in the house.

Summary from Goodreads. Normally I would say that this isn’t my type of book. Sure I enjoy cute, classic kid’s books from time to time but I never really love them as an adult. BUT I thought that about Winnie the Pooh and ended up completely loving the book. I think that’s enough for me to give this book a shot at some point.

Have you read this before? Is it good?

7 thoughts on “Hidden in the Shelves (22)

  1. I loved Paddington Bear! I would read that book when I was little, and disney also did like a little mini-series on Paddington Bear. I haven’t seen this book in forever, it brings back lots of memories :)

  2. I’m a total Paddington girl. Winnie the Pooh never did it for me, he was just too silly.
    Paddington is just the right amount of silly mixed with adorable. The illustrations are sketchy and cute and I simply can’t get enough of Paddington.
    It’s definitely worth your time and possibly even my favorite book series for little children!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

