Quick Thoughts: “Going Solo”

“Going Solo” by Roald Dahl

Genre: Children’s Non-Fiction, Biography

Source: Gift

Summary from Goodreads:

Going Solo is the action-packed tale of Roald Dahl’s exploits as a World War II pilot. Learn all about his encounters with the enemy, his worldwide travels, the life-threatening injuries he sustained in a plane accident, and the rest of his sometimes bizarre, often unnerving, and always colorful adventures.

review

This was a letdown after how much I enjoyed Boy: Tales of Childhood. I didn’t enjoy this. I hate to call someone’s life boring but I didn’t find this book to be very exciting or interesting. It was pretty cool to see how things were back in WWII through the eyes of a pilot. It was pretty drab though. I was expecting for him to bring in more of his charm with his storytelling but it never showed up. I was really hoping to see more of his life. The book only covered a few years after he graduated school. There’s still so much of his life! How did he end up writing kid’s books? How did he end up in writing at all? So many unanswered questions.

The bottom line? Not really my thing.

I read this as a part of my Roald Dahl Challenge.

Join me!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

