Listed: Battle of The Books

It’s that time of year again (or at least I assume it is. I keep seeing stuff for it at the library). Battle of the Books time! For those of you who don’t know, Battle of the Books is a fun reading program for 3rd -12th graders. Basically you read the books on the year’s list and you compete against other teams by answering questions about the books. It’s been 10+ years since I’ve participated but I think that’s all that’s to it. Schools and libraries typically host the event. There are age brackets so kids are competing against peers.

Here are some of my recommendations off this year’s list:

You can check out last year and this year’s book list here. It’s a really good list of children’s books if you’re looking for suggestions.

What are some of your recommendation off of the list?

 

10 thoughts on “Listed: Battle of The Books

  1. OMG I LOVED Battle of the Books!!! And those are some great selections – I actually bought The Phantom Tollbooth to re-read and I re-read Sideways Stories a few months back because I found it in a used bookstore :)

    • They always have great selections. If the books weren’t all checked out from the library (and I didn’t feel like I was stealing the books from the kids), I’d totally want to read/reread some of these books!

  2. I’ve never heard of this program but it sounds like so much fun! OMG I loved The Secret Garden, Phantom Tollbooth, and The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. Great recommendations.

  3. This is a GREAT program. I get a blast out of watching the kids compete every year. I honestly think there’s a documentary waiting to be made about this. The avid readers take it so seriously it is amazing that they ever miss a question.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

