Things I Need To Remember About Book Blogging

This is really just a reminder for me but I’m sure many of you can relate.

  • My blog is my space. I’m allowed to talk about things as I see fit.
  • I’m allowed to take my time when reading. If it takes me 3 hours to read a book, that’s fine. If it takes me 2 weeks to get through a book that is fine as well.
  • It’s not the end of the world if I don’t like a book everyone else gushes about. Different strokes for different folks.

  • I don’t need to stress about writing a fabulous review. Simply discussing my likes/dislikes and anything else that stood out is enough for me.
  • I don’t need to force myself to read things I don’t enjoy. This goes for fun reading and review request reading. If I don’t like it, I’m allowed to DNF a book and not feel bad about it.
  • There will be no green eyed monster here. Blogging isn’t a competition. Who cares if blogger ABC got an ARC that sounds amazing? If I’m that interested in the book, I can always buy or borrow the book soon enough. Who cares if blogger XYZ gets to interview someone awesome? I should be excited for them and be happy to read the interview.
  • Always take time to read what I want to read.
  • There’s no need to be in this for free books. The library will always have my back.
  • If this ever stops being fun, I’m doing it wrong.

What are things you need to remember about book blogging?

20 thoughts on “Things I Need To Remember About Book Blogging

  1. So true! I’ve got a handful of books that have been taking me a while to read, not because they aren’t good, but because they’re best read slowly… :)

  2. These are all awesome points, some of which I’ve really been thinking about lately. Particularly the timing with reading. I always feel rushed to get through a lot of books especially my review requests. But sometimes life gets in the way and I get busy, so I end up feeling guilty if I don’t finish on time. But, it’s just a matter of trying to prioritize, and sometimes, the books just have to wait.

  3. Hear! Hear!
    I definitely do not write the best reviews but my blog is merely an expression of my emotions / thoughts generated via my readings – it’s one outlet ;)

  4. Thank you, I forget that and start stressing out…there are too many books and too little time! I do this for fun, and fun it should be!!

  5. I think these are very important things for every book blogger to remember. At the end of the day, you should blog for you and it should never ever take precedence over having fun reading :) Thanks for the reminder!

  6. I appreciate the reminder. I’ve been beating myself up that I’m not writing any reviews of the late and that I’m not confident in my writing. Maybe my reviews aren’t good enough, that my readers won’t like it. I shouldn’t focus on pleasing others when it’s all about what I feel about the books I read and if anyone like them then that’s great, if otherwise then that’s too bad. That I should have fun and enjoy the process of reviewing is the important bit of it all. Thanks :) May I re-blog this?

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

