Book Review: “Tuesdays at the Castle”

“Tuesdays at the Castle (Castle Glower #1)” by Jessica Day George

Genre: Middle Grade Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Gift

GoodreadsOther Castle Glower books

Summary from Goodreads:

Tuesdays at Castle Glower are Princess Celie’s favorite days. That’s because on Tuesdays the castle adds a new room, a turret, or sometimes even an entire wing. No one ever knows what the castle will do next, and no one-other than Celie, that is-takes the time to map out the new additions. But when King and Queen Glower are ambushed and their fate is unknown, it’s up to Celie, with her secret knowledge of the castle’s never-ending twists and turns, to protect their home and save their kingdom. This delightful book from a fan- and bookseller-favorite kicks off a brand-new series sure to become a modern classic

review

The summary caught my attention. I want a castle that grows and adds on to itself! Or at least I want one like Castle Glower. I could see how an alive castle could be creepy. Thankfully, it’s an MG book so the castle is charming and delightful.

Celie is an awesome heroine. She’s spunky. I love that she’s smart but not in the ‘nerdy’ way that some books portray smart kids. She’s got a good head on her shoulders. She knows to sit back and watch before making her move. She’s a great princess. She really and truly cares about her staff, the people of her country, and the castle. She tries to do right by everyone and isn’t selfish.

The story was fun enough. For some reason I really enjoy royal drama (a la the Graceling Realm) so this gave me that but the PG version of it. Missing royalty, rushing the crowning, neighboring kingdoms shoving their way in. Ahhhh what’s not to love about that? (Well, I enjoy reading about it. I can’t imagine it would be fun to live through) The kids and the castle all rally together to save the day. Yes it’s a bit cliche but it’s enjoyable enough to make you willing to overlook that.

The bottom line? I liked it very much!

 

10 thoughts on “Book Review: “Tuesdays at the Castle”

  1. Oh, royal drama, I feel, is always fun to read. And this one .. grows.. and adds a wing, etc. .. WOW. I would check this out soon. I haven’t read any of her novels (yet) but I’ve seen “Princess of the Midnight Ball” garner some good reviews here and there.

  2. Love some Jessica Day George! I’ve only read a couple of her books, but they’re really good. If you like fairy tale retellings, check out Princess of the Midnight Ball (retelling of 12 Dancing Princesses) and Princess of Glass (sequel to Midnight Ball and a retelling of Cinderella). She’s got a new one coming out that’s the third in her fairy tale retelling series that’s a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. I’ve also heard that Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow is very good. Hope you get to check out some of her other books!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

