Chatting With… Anna Kyss

Anna Kyss is the author of the YA Paranormal book Wings of Shadow.

Tell us about your book.

Wings of Shadow tells the story of Meghan, who has just finished high school, but is not ready to begin college. She takes a trip abroad, a gap term, instead. I don’t want to reveal any spoilers, but she does have some not-quite-human encounters along the way that place her at great risk. If you enjoy urban fantasies, paranormal romances, celtic themes, or mythology, you are likely to enjoy Wings of Shadow.

What makes your book different than other books out there?

Wings of Shadow has two very unique and vibrant settings, and an interesting premise as well. How far should one go to save their species? What sacrifices should be made to protect an entire species from extinction?

While there is a love triangle, it is a true triangle which focuses as much on brotherly love, as it does with romantic love.

Where do you get your inspiration?

I am often filled with wanderlust… a deep desire to explore new places, so I travel often. On my journeys, stories often reveal themselves. The idea for Wings of Shadow developed on a trip to England in 2009. Each day of travel revealed a little more of the story and by the end of the week, I had the novel outlined.

What kind of books do you read? Are they similar to the books you write?

I have always been a voracious reader. I do love to read YA literature, particularly YA urban fantasies and dystopians, which are often what I reach for first at the bookstore. But I have been known to read across genres so my Kindle is filled with a pretty eclectic collection of books.

Dream cast your book for us.

I am far more of a bookworm than a movie buff, so this is a difficult question for me to answer. I would love to hear from readers who their dream cast would be. Feel free to email your ideas!

Do you have a ‘day job’? What is it?

I do have a full-time job, in a professional area. I think I am going to be rather secretive about what it actually is though ;)

What has your biggest struggle been so far?

As a new author, the biggest challenge has been building awareness of my novel. When you first publish a novel, there is a lot of marketing that needs to happen so the book can be found by potential readers. Marketing is a very “Look at Me!” type of activity, and I am not a very “Look at Me!” type person, so it is something I am developing comfort with.

How do you feel about romances being so common in YA (and to a lesser degree MG) books?

Developmentally, the teen years are filled with romance firsts: first crushes, first kisses, and for some, falling in love for the first time. Outside of bookdom, it seems like a lot of time and energy are spent on these pursuits, so it makes sense that YA literature focuses heavily on this theme as well.

What trend do you love in MG/YA books? What trend do you hate?

I have enjoyed the increasing amount of YA literature being written in first person, present tense. I love the immediacy and the presence this point of view allows for. I am playing around with first person, present tense for a dystopian novel I am working on.

As for trends I don’t care for, I find that when a YA book takes off and finds success, it is often mimicked by dozens of other copycat books which don’t offer anything unique or interesting.

What’s next for you?

My next novel is a YA dystopian with a very unique setting. I am hoping that it will be ready for release for late 2012. I am also working on the sequel to Wings of Shadow.

Thanks for hanging out with us today, Anna!

Author Bio

I have always been a reader. I was that child who learned to read early and was constantly surrounded by a huge pile of books. It is only recently that I learned there was a writer hiding within me. Wings of Shadow is my debut novel.

Anna’s book on Amazon

Authors, do you want to be interviewed?

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

