Scary Books For BHA

Hey guys!

I was starting to think about the book choices for October’s BHA poll when it hit me. Halloween is in October! We should have a scary/spooky/unsettling book that month. I don’t read too many scary books so I’m at a loss as to what books to put on the poll.

My very limited brainstorming got me to: Dracula by Bram Stoker and Frankenstein by Mary Shelly

Those are okay options but they’re also the very obvious choices as well.

I’d love to hear your suggestions about books for that month. Please leave your suggestions in the comments.

General Guidelines:

  • Doesn’t have to be horror. Anything that’s dark, mysterious, spooky, and/or creepy would work.
  • The book should be easily accessible. Public domain is my favorite since people can download the book for free. At the very least, the book needs to be something that most people could go to a library or bookstore and pick it up with no problems.
  • Appropriate for The Cheap Reader. You guys know the types of I tend to read and use for BHA. :) Basically no excessive gore or scary things. [I’m a total weenie when it comes to that.]

 

4 thoughts on “Scary Books For BHA

  1. Something by Shirley Jackson… The Haunting at Hill House, maybe. It’s been a while since I’ve read it, but I would totally read it again. Jackson’s creepy in the absolute best way!!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

