Book Review: “Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods”

“Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods (Underland Chronicles #3)” by Suzanne Collins

Genre: Middle Grade Fiction, Children’s Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Bought

Other books: 1, 2, 4, 5

Summary from Goodreads:

Book Two left off with Gregor reading the Prophecy of Blood: a prophecy that calls for Gregor and Boots to return to the Underland to help ward off a deadly plague. But this time, Gregor’s mother refuses to let him return to the Underland . . . until the rat Ripred assures the family that Gregor and Boots are just needed for a short meeting, which the crawlers will attend only if their “princess” Boots is present. Gregor’s mom finally relents, on the condition that she go with them. The Underland plague is spreading, and when one of Gregor’s family is stricken, he begins to understand his role in the Prophecy of Blood, and must summon all his power to end the biological warfare that threatens the warmblooded creatures of the Underland. Fans of Suzanne Collins’s acclaimed fantasy series will find more suspense and action than ever in this thrilling third saga.

Review

I’m enjoying the Underland Chronicles. I really am. It has many of the elements I enjoy in stories: prophecies, siblings in it together, another world, and quests. I’m just not loving it. The Curse of the Warmbloods was enjoyable…or at least as enjoyable as a story can be when so many lives hand in the balance.

The story picks up months after The Curse of the Bane. Things are looking very grim. Things only get worse when characters we know pick up the plague. Maybe it was because it’s been a couple months since I read the previous book but I wasn’t overly caught up in the horror of the situation. Sure, I was a bit upset when I learned what happened when you got the plague (it’s really gnarly) but I wasn’t too fearful for people’s lives. It’s probably because I don’t really remember much about the person other than they are “good”. Then we have new characters introduced only to have them taken away quickly enough. I’m just finding it really hard to connect and care about the characters.

The story was fun enough. It’s another quest with a prophecy that isn’t fully understood until the end. We learn a bit more about the Underland world and the history. I wish we could learn more about it though. I love learning more about the world. There hasn’t been enough info in any of the books for me. I hope we learn more in future books.

The bottom line? Another solid installment of the adventures of Boots [oh yeah and Gregor! ;)]

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods”

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

