Chatting With… K.A. Poe

K.A. Poe is the author of the YA Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy book Twin Souls.

Tell us about your book.

After being spontaneously abandoned by her mother, Alexis’s life changes in one drastic way after another. She discovers that the people she has thought were her parents for the past seventeen years are in fact not her parents, and her true father has a deep secret that at first she doesn’t believe. She meets an intriguing boy in music class that also changes her world – for better and worst.

Alex finds out that she comes from a long line of vampire hunters and the young man she is falling for happens to be a member of the undead and she is destined to rid the world of such ‘monsters’. However, he is unlike most vampires – he doesn’t believe in harming humans – but that doesn’t stop Alex’s father from wanting him dead.

What makes your book different than other books out there?

There are a few twists and turns that you would not expect to see in a vampire novel that even I found surprising as I was writing it.

Where do you get your inspiration?

It comes to me spontaneously, most often during the night when I am trying to sleep.

What kind of books do you read? Are they similar to the books you write?

I read mostly young adult novels, especially of the fantasy or paranormal variety. Some of them are definitely similar to what I write.

Dream cast your book for us.

This is a tough one, especially as far as Alexis goes…Perhaps Lucy Hale, although she is a little out of the age range I would be looking for. I could see Dakota Fanning as Alex’s best friend Karen. Liam Payne from One Direction could play Jason, and Harry Styles could play his brother Mitchell, ha. If Zayn had blue eyes, I could see him playing Salem…or, Colin Morgan could take up that role.

Do you have a ‘day job’? What is it?

I am a stay-at-home mother.

What has your biggest struggle been so far?

I occasionally have trouble balancing time watching my daughter, spending time with my husband, and dedicating enough time to writing – but it’s not been such a problem now that my child is older and slightly more independent.

How do you feel about romances being so common in YA (and to a lesser degree MG) books?

I have nothing against romance in young adult books, assuming it isn’t anything extensively sexual.

What trend do you love in MG/YA books? What trend do you hate?

I cannot think of any trends that I particularly like or dislike.

What’s next for you?

I will be releasing my second book in the Nevermore series very soon, and I am currently about halfway done with the third one. There may or may not be a fourth one. I also have another series that I am working on that is a lot different that I hope to have out soon :)

Thanks for hanging out with us today!

Author Bio

K.A. Poe lives in Arizona with her husband and daughter. She spends a lot of her free time writing, reading or playing computer games. Writing has always been her passion and that will never change!

K.A.’s other books on Amazon

Authors, do you want to be interviewed?

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

