Book Review: “Little House on the Prairie”

“Little House on the Prairie (Little House #2)” by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Historical Fiction, Classic

Source: Gift

Other Little House books

Summary from Goodreads:

Pa Ingalls decides to sell the little log house, and the family sets out for Indian country They travel from Wisconsin to Kansas, and there, finally, Pa builds their little house on the prairie. Sometimes farm life is difficult, even dangerous, but Laura and her family are kept busy and happy with the promise of their new life on the prairie.

Review

I liked Little House in the Big Woods well enough. I just found it to be a bit boring. The Ingalls family wasn’t doing anything too exciting. The book was just a snapshot of 1 year in their life. Little House on the Prairie was a bit more eventful. Moving is always scary/nerve wracking on some level. Here the Ingalls family was moving further west where they know absolutely no one with nothing more than what they could fit in their wagon only to do who knows what. I don’t know about you guys but I found that to be terrifying. I know people did that type of stuff for years and years but to see it unfold in front of me was fascinating. It’s amazing to see how resourceful Pa was.

Pa kind of irked me in this book. I thought it was completely ridiculous to pick up and move his whole family just because the woods were getting a bit crowded. I guess I could understand if he had some kind of plan for after they moved but he had nothing. Just wanted to move. He chose to completely disrupt his family’s life and pull them away from family. That’s pretty ridiculous. Jillian has a pretty good rant discussion on the subject. :)

I was a bit taken aback my Ma and the Indians. I know I have to take a step back and remember we’re dealing with a different time period and and a different context compared to now. To a certain extent, I can understand her fear. It’s scary to be in the middle of no where with little protection and almost no one around to help. It’s even scarier to be in that situation on someone else’s land and you’re unable to communicate with those people.

The bottom line? It was enjoyable. Certainly more enjoyable than what I remember as a kid.

This was read for Book Hoarders Anonymous.

Stop by and chat about the book with us!

Other reviews:

5 thoughts on “Book Review: “Little House on the Prairie”

  1. My library hold request came in and I’m looking forward to starting this one. I’m interested to see what I think of this book as an adult. I loved them when I was little and read them over and over — interspersing them with Anne of Green Gables. :)

    Like this

  2. This was one of my favorites as a kid, but I wonder what I’d think about it if I re-read it. I hadn’t remembered the part about Ma and the Indians…

    Like this

    • It’s always interesting to re-read books as an adults. There’s not TOO much but just a few subtle things that people could overlook. The line that stands out to me is “The only good Indian is a dead one” (or something to that effect). It’s a bit shocking reading it from today.

      Like this

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

