Book Review: “The Lightning Thief”

“The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1)” by Rick RiordanGoodreads

Genre: Middle Grade Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure

Other Percy Jackson Books/ Other Heroes of Olympus Books

Source: Bought

Summary from Goodreads:

Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school… again. And that’s the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy’s Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he’s angered a few of them. Zeus’ master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus’ stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

review

I love this series so much. I think this is my 3rd time reading it. Percy Jackson has everything I love about Middle Grade/Children’s books: special school/camp, quests, blending old stories with newer stuff, friendship, and humor.

I’ve always found Percy to be a very likable character. He seems very realistic. I’ve been around 12 year old boys and he definitely sounds and acts like one. I really enjoy how personal the book is. Riordan could have taken after Rowling and told the story in third person limited point of view. It could have worked for this story. But instead he chose to do first person and it works really well. Hearing the story directly from Percy in Percy’s voice makes the story a bit special. Not to mention the humor definitely works better coming from Percy.

In this book, the other characters are likeable but not AS likeable. They’re nice enough and I enjoy them but I don’t like them as much as I do Percy. [Of course that changes over the course of the other books but we’re talking only about book 1 right now.] Annabeth is cold with glimpses of her true personality coming through. Grover is sweet but his uneasiness gets a bit old.

I LOVE that this series is readable for everyone. I read it before I knew anything about Greek Mythology and I had fun with the story. I then read it after talking a intro class to Greek Mythology. My knowledge only enhanced my enjoyment. I could pick out what came from what myth. The story was fun enough. The action picks up quickly so you get caught up immediately.  There’s not tons of info dumping. Just enough to get you going. They fill you up as you need to know more.

The bottom line? It’s a highly enjoyable start to a fun series.

12 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Lightning Thief”

  1. Riordan is one of my favorite kid lit writers. Percy is funny, witty, resourceful, and a whole lot of fun to read.The books provides a great twist on average children’s literature. It’s highly imaginative and original. Great series overall. The Heroes of Olympus series is coming along excellently I might add. Definite read for those who enjoyed Percy and his adventures.

  2. I LOVE THE SERIES!!!! Man, Percy Jackson has got to be one of my favorite book series EVER. Of all time. And Percy Jackson is my favorite fictional character. He wins like, hands down. I’m glad I’ve found another person who loves Percy Jackson as much as I do :)

  3. A quick thought:
    I have just recognized that author uses European measurement system instead of… ahm.. that one stupid one of inches and feet…. (joking about stupidness)
    How did you get along it?
    I just remember how me and my husband were visiting our friends in London and their neighbors had troubles to transfer lb in kg (of course we had the same problem, lol). That was so funny and strange at the same moment, I was just like “oh, come on guys, KILOGRAM!!! There is nothing complicated about it! How can’t you transfer your weight in KG???? It is the best unit of measurement in the whole world!” XDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

    • I think Americans get a different version of the book because I don’t remember any talk of the metric system in the book, haha.

      I know it’s not *hard* to do the conversion. I just need to remember roughly what 1 KG equals in pounds (and so forth).

  4. That was our problem, none knew it xD
    I know only that 1 inch = 2,5 cm and only because I used to wear and sew corsets, lol. It is a worldwide standard to measure corsets in inches, doesn’t matter what system is usual in your country

  5. Finally I am finished with the book. I, actually, liked everything about it, every personality is well done without giving a reader billions of information. The only thing which has disturbed me all the way is I just couldn’t imagine Percy is 12 years old boy! I was reading and saw 15-16 years old teenager. What 12 years old boy is talking and acting like? It can be 10 times half blood, but.. oh come on, I can’t believe it!!
    I was very surprised how different book and movie are. They share only few things O.O
    But I am not going to blame anyone. That’s strange but I like both!

    • His age is a weird thing with the series. In a lot of ways, he does act pretty mature bu other times he definitely seems like a 12 year old!

      Blah, I really didn’t like the movie. They did a horrible job! They messed up quite a bit. They’re making the next book into a movie. I’m curious as to how it will be since they screwed some things up in the first movie.

      • Oh well, in the 1. book there were no situations where he would act like typical 12 years old boy. So it felt really weird to be remembered how Percy is.

        Yup, I totally agree with you. I don’t get the point to make books into such movies at all. You announce there comes out a movie made out of a book and serve different story where only names of main figures are same and the rest… no comments.
        But I guess this is the reason why I still like movie, it is way too different to compare it to a book. So I see it just like two different things that don’t have to do anything with each other and that’s fine to me.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

