Book Review: “Ender’s Game”

“Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card

Genre: Adult/Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction

Source: Bought

Summary from Goodreads:

The war with the Buggers has been raging for a hundred years, and the quest for the perfect general has been underway for almost as long. Enter Andrew “Ender” Wiggin, the result of decades of genetic experimentation.

Is Ender the general Earth so desperately needs? The only way to find out is to throw him into ever-harsher training at Battle School, to chip away and find the diamond inside, or destroy him utterly. Ender Wiggin is six years old when his training begins. He will grow up fast.

But Ender is not the only result of the experiment. His two older siblings, Peter and Valentine, are every bit as unusual as he is, but in very different ways. Among the three of them lie the abilities to remake a world. If, that is, the world survives.

review

I like that it’s a good book for everyone. I’m still a bit fuzzy about what age group the book is technically classified for. I feel like a 10 year old, their teenage sibling, and their parent could all pick this book up and be fine with reading it. It’s very readable to all age levels. It doesn’t feel childish even though we’re dealing with a very young protagonist but it also doesn’t feel old and boring like how adult fiction can sometimes  be.

I initially enjoyed the battles and practices. It was fairly interesting. Then it got to be really boring. It was  all they were doing and I can only take so much of reading about these practices. Then there’s the fact that I was having a really hard time visualizing what the practices looked like. I couldn’t really imagine how these kids were pulling off the maneuvers. I wanted to see more of what was going on outside the practice room. Eventually we got out of the battle room and went to command school but it felt like more of the same. I really wanted to see more of the outside world. What’s the deal with the buggers? Why are we relying on kids to save us? Too many questions, not enough answers.

Ender was odd. I have no problem with young protagonists. I generally read YA/MG and children’s books so a young protagonist  isn’t a big deal. He just never, ever felt his age. He was 6 when the book started but he didn’t act, speak, think like any 6 year old I know. This carries on through out the book as he grows up. He never felt right. Maybe if the book changed the ages and started the book when he as 13 or so I would have liked it/connected with it more.

The bottom line? It was enjoyable enough.  It’s not my type of science fiction though.

This was read for Book Hoarders Anonymous.

Come chat with us about the book!

11 thoughts on “Book Review: “Ender’s Game”

  1. i just read this book and I felt a lot of the same things you felt. I read it for my teen book club at the teen center and all the boys liked it but they didn’t think the battles had enough violence (of course, typical).

  2. I liked the book too but will agree that Ender is an odd one. He young but mature way past his years and in some ways too much of an adult for me to believe he was just a child but I think that’s also the point. He was a child being treated as an adult and expected to make adult decisions. It was a strange and interesting dynamic in the story. It wasn’t at all what I was expecting but I’m glad I read it.

    I need to get my review posted next week. I keep getting sidetracked.

  3. I loved it, but then I’m a fan of sci-fi. The practice maneuvering reminded me a lot of watching someone play a video game. I was a big fan of the twist at the end and the whole Speaker for the Dead thing. I haven’t gotten around to reading more of the series yet, but I’d like to eventually.

  4. I didn’t love this either. It was good, but not amazing… I keep thinking there is something wrong with me because so many people seem to love it.

  5. I really enjoyed this book. The psychological manipulation aspect, the invasion, Ender doing what needed to be done. But yea, he was so young, kind of like Charles Wallace in L’Engle’s books. Our society now lets kids be kids a lot longer, it is really hard to imagine. I haven’t read any more of the books though. Maybe some day.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

