Style Saturday (June 9): Defined Taste

Style Saturday is a meme hosted by me where each week I present a prompt about reading style and explain my answer. Feel free to join in with your answer in the comments or leave a link to your Style Saturday on your blog.

I desperately need ideas!

This week: Do you have a defined taste in books? Are your friends/family easily able to pick up a book at the library or bookstore and say it’s a “you” book and they’re right? Has it always been this way? Or is your taste more broad?

My taste is pretty well defined. I definitely love MG or YA action-y books with science fiction or fantasy elements. Many of the books that I read would fall into that category. Of course, I do read other types of books but fun action books are where I always tend to end up again. If they had to, my family could probably find “me” books pretty easily. I’m sure many of you who follow my blog could find books that are a good fit for me pretty easily as well. :-)

Overall my taste has stayed the same. When I was younger I tended to enjoy action packed books more than anything. In my teens, I read other stuff but even then it tended to have action elements. Now as an adult, I’ve circled back to what I enjoyed as a kid. Much of the stuff I’m reading now, I would have likely enjoyed back then. Too bad a lot of it wasn’t written back then!

How is your taste in books? Defined or broad?

4 thoughts on “Style Saturday (June 9): Defined Taste

  1. It’s really interesting that your tastes have stayed pretty much the same. You would always expect them to become different as you got older but I reckon I’m the same as you- the books I read and loved as child are similar in themes as the ones I love now. Great feature x

  2. Lately my tastes have become very eclectic – I’ll read pretty much anything! Which would give someone pretty good odds of grabbing a book I’d like, but for the opposite reason :)

    • That sounds like a pretty good way to be! I’d like to read more of a variety but I don’t want to ‘waste’ my limited time on something I might not enjoy.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

