Style Saturday (May 26): Gateway Books Part 2

Style Saturday is a meme hosted by me where each week I present a prompt about reading style and explain my answer. Feel free to join in with your answer in the comments or leave a link to your Style Saturday on your blog.

I desperately need ideas!

This week: Here’s the second part of the Gateway books discussion. This week I want us to help each other out.

There are 2 ways you can participate.

The first way is asking for gateway books. In your comment, tell us about what books, authors, etc you want to try reading. (Examples: “I’d love to read more Agatha Christie books but I don’t know where to start!” or “I’m trying to read more dystopian books. What do you suggest I try reading?”) Go nuts! Ask for as much help as you want.

The second way is suggesting books to people. Read through the comments of others looking for help. If you’re able to suggest books, please do! I probably won’t be able to help with everything so every little bit can help. (Example: “The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness are my favorite dystopian books. That would be good starting place for you.”)

I’d like to read more historical fiction. Ideally Young Adult or Middle Grade books. I really enjoy Ancient Greece and Rome but am open to other time periods. Any book or author suggestions?

Here are some authors I’d like to try but I have no idea where to go: Eva Ibbotson, Diana Wynne Jones, Robin McKinley.

Your turn!

2 thoughts on “Style Saturday (May 26): Gateway Books Part 2

  1. With Diana Wynne Jones, I would recommend starting with the Chronicles of Chrestomanci (here’s the first book) and have read other bloggers who’ve said the same. For Robin McKinley I don’t think there’s quite as obvious a choice, but I first read her Damar series (first book here) and it was a good enough intro that it convinced me to pick up some of her other books :)

    Like this

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

