Cover Love: Anne of Green Gables

Even though I haven’t read many classics/public domain books, I always enjoy the covers. There are always some really nice ones out there. My theory is since the story is in the public domain and there are SO many editions of the book out there, it’s a competition to make the “prettiest” cover for the book. That works for me! I can love all of them.

The Puffin Classics covers are always so cool! They’re fairly simple illustrations but I love them.

I have a not so secret love for the Puffin hardback classics. I love the simplicity of them. I don’t quite know if this fits Anne but it is still awesome.

Wikipedia says this is a first edition cover. I like it even though the girl looks too old to be Anne.

This is the cover of the book I own.

Do you have a favorite cover of Anne of Green Gables? What does your book look like?

10 thoughts on “Cover Love: Anne of Green Gables

  1. Can’t remember the cover, but Anne of Green Gables was the book that got me hooked on a lifetime of reading at the age of eight. I finished it and declared I would be studying English literature at university and become a writer (and I did).

    More than 20 years later, I am in the middle of a crazy challenge to read a book from every country in the world in 2012 (http://ayearofreadingtheworld.com/). It seems as though Anne Shirley is still causing trouble well into her old age…

    • Ooh, that’s a cool one.

      It is a confusing cover. I finished the book and don’t really remember her doing farm work. Maybe it’s just implied because they live on a farm?

      • Chasing a chicken does sound like the sort of mischief Anne would get into, but the book is a little too Victorian to have a middle class girl doing manual labor… Also I’m 99% sure if you let Anne take care of animals, she’d lose them all while daydreaming about something else!

  2. I think I will end up with quite a collection. My *main* copy looks like this: http://tinyurl.com/6my83zg It’s a hardback with both Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea in it, but I can’t carry that around in my handbag, so I bought the green edition above, with her sitting under a tree. And now there’s another version coming out just next week that I am getting itchy fingers to buy, which looks like this: http://tinyurl.com/76yjjqs

  3. I also love the Lauren Child illustration (the top, Puffin classic edition – she writes and illustrates the Charlie and Lola picture books which are adorable.) It’s a simple, quirky illustration that captures Anne’s essential Anneishness.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

