Roald Dahl Challenge!

I was fortunate enough to receive a box set of Roald Dahl books for Christmas. There are 15 books in the collection. I’ve decided to challenge myself to read the collection this year. And so the Roald Dahl challenge was born.

The Details

  • Runs from January 01 2012 to December 31 2012. Jump in whenever you can.
  • You don’t have to have a blog to participate.
  • Read as many or as few books as you’d like. [I’m shooting for all 15 in my collection]
  • Physical books, ebooks, audiobooks are all welcome.
  • His children’s books are the primary focus of this challenge. You are welcome to read a few of his adult books to count towards the challenge.
  • For bonus fun please feel free to watch the movie adaptations in addition to the books.

This will be my main post for the challenge. I’m going to add links to my reviews/thoughts here. I’m using Mister Linky. Add your thoughts/progress/links to your thoughts/reviews in the Mister Linky. If it breaks or stops working during the year, let me know and just add your links in the comments! Let me know if you’re participating! I want to keep an eye out for your posts.

Here’s a link to the button and a smaller button. Please feel free to use the button on your blog or post(s). Link back to this page.

Progress [15/15]

The Magic Finger
The BFG
Esio Trot
James and the Giant Peach
Boy: Tales of a Childhood
Fantastic Mr. Fox
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator
The Giraffe And The Pelly And Me

Danny the Champion of the World
The Twits
Going Solo
Matilda
George’s Marvelous Medicine
The Witches

26 thoughts on “Roald Dahl Challenge!

  1. I’ve read all his books as a kid and really wanted the box set for Christmas (you can see my post here); but it was a little heavy and expensive so my parents got me a Dhal anthology, which I found to be just as awesome. Enjoy your books! And thanks for stopping by my blog :)

  2. thanks for stopping by my blog, Alison!
    I’m glad that you like the Dahl books! this challenge seems awesome! perhaps I should participate too :p I love re-reads.
    you’ll have to let me know when you get to Witches. That is one of my favorites!

  3. Brilliant! One of the most timeless children’s authors, in my opinion! His stories are still great even reading them as an adult. I remember always being drawn in by the illustrations as well :P

  4. I just found your blog through book blogs, and I’m so glad I did! I love Dahl!! As a matter of fact when I decided to start a book review blog I know I wanted to have a quote as the basis. After a little searching I found the perfect quote!! Who better to quote than Matilda, such a great lover of books!! Matilda is by absolute favorite children’s book, and I’ve probably read it at least 15 times! Here’s a link to my blog: http://flyingonsilverwings.blogspot.com/

    I’d love to have you follow me! I’m now following you, and I will definitely be joining this challenge! Off to grab a button…

    • You’re right! Matilda is a great book.

      I’m glad to have you on board. I don’t think any one besides me is doing the challenge, haha. I’ll go add you to my Google Reader now. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on the books. :)

  5. Hey there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

