Listed: Books For My Kids

This is an idea that’s been swirling around in my mind quite a bit. As an avid reader, I absolutely want my future children to love reading as much as I do (and did when I was younger). This is an interesting list because I do enjoy many books but not everything sticks out as something I want to keep around for my future kids.

Sure I have books that I enjoy but I wouldn’t ‘force’ my kids to read them. If the books interest them, great! If it’s not their cup of tea, that’s fine too.

Here’s my list of books I want my children to read:

Redwall (and other books within the series) by Brian Jacques
The Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
The Bridge To Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan
Matilda by Roald Dahl
The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster
Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

What are some books you want your children to read? How about books that you want to read with them?

(You can probably expect another installment of this list some point in the future.)

11 thoughts on “Listed: Books For My Kids

  1. I actually had a moment this summer where I, digging through thrift stores, thought about making a book trousseau for Hypothetical Niece. She will be getting my Harry Potter series—ideally, I want to dole them out to her at the appropriate age from 11 to 17, but I doubt that’ll work out—and I’ll be reading The Hobbit to her when she’s little. Madeline is, of course, not optional, since we’re French. I’ve recently had a fantasy of editing down The Three Musketeers for bedtime reading, but I doubt I’ll be able to.

    • I love the Harry Potter idea. It’s probably not feasible but still a very fun idea.
      I like your list a lot! I hope you do follow through with your idea. I’m sure your Hypothetical Niece would love it.

  2. Great picks! I would add Harriet the Spy; From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler; A Little Princess; something by Judy Blume; at least one children’s book by Beverly Cleary like Ramona and Her Mother; Charlotte’s Web; The Cricket in Times Square; a book by Kate DiCamillo; Anastasia Krupnik by Lois Lowry…Hmm. My list would be very, very long!

  3. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 01/02/12 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

