Book Review: “The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings Part 1)” Book Two and Final Thoughts

Cover of

Cover via Amazon

“The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings Part 1)” by J. R. R. Tolkien

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

Frodo Baggins knew the Ringwraiths were searching for him – and the Ring of Power he bore that would enable Sauron to destroy all that was good in Middle-earth. Now it was up to Frodo and his faithful servant Sam to carry the Ring to where it could be detroyed – in the very center of Sauron’s dark kingdom.

My thoughts on book one of The Fellowship are here.

Thoughts On Book Two

My biggest complaint was how slow moving it was. Book two stepped it up so to speak so I enjoyed it more. Not to mention, I enjoyed the addition of new characters.

When I first started the book, I wasn’t too fond of any of the characters. I continued trudging along and found myself growing quite fond of the Hobbits. Now I almost want to go back and re-read the first few chapters. (Maybe I should read The Hobbit sometime in the future?) I also enjoyed Gandalf, Aragorn, and Legolas but the Hobbits were my favorite.

review

I’ve had so much trouble thinking about what to say for this review. A good portion of my reviews are based on how much I enjoyed the books mixed with how “good” the book is (story is concise, well written, grammar and spelling are good, etc).

This book is very well written. There’s no doubt in my mind about that. I can see the amount of thought, time, and effort that went into the story. I even have a copy that contains appendixes on the Kings, the history, family trees, and the languages of the books. I can see why some people adore the series. The book(s) just aren’t for me though. I think more than anything I was overwhelmed with everything and wasn’t able to process everything because there is SO much going on.

I was never engrossed in the story. There was never anything that just grabbed my attention and didn’t let go. I just kept trudging through it hoping I’d enjoy it more but that time never really came.

The story itself is a good one. I love quests and I love rooting for the little guy. It did annoy me how slow they moved (especially in the beginning of the book) when danger was so looming. I realize that the journey has got to be a long one but does it have to be so slow moving?

The ending was odd. I really, really hate when books don’t properly end a story. I understand that the overarching story of a series never really ends until the last book is done but can’t we have some closure at the end of each book? If anything this just felt like a chapter ended.

Rating 2.5/5

Please don’t let my thoughts deter you from reading it. It’s a good book, just not for me though. I think fans of fantasy need to at least give it a shot. Just be aware that it’s not for everyone.

If I decide to continue with the series in the future, I might give audiobooks a chance. I think that might help some.

11 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings Part 1)” Book Two and Final Thoughts

  1. I had the same complaint, that there’s not ending really for the first or the second one. I guess that’s because its an ongoing trilogy and really you could stick it all into one book and read it that way.
    There are people who rave about this series and people that hate it. I think I was somewhere in between. I did enjoy it though. Sorry you’re struggling through it!

  2. Well, The Lord of the Rings isn’t a series—it’s a single novel. For economic reasons, the publishers, when it was first published, decided to publish it in three parts, which we retain to this day. I agree that installments in series should have a sense of closure and function as single books, but I think it’s unfair to ask a third of a novel to function as a novel.

  3. I totally respect your opinion and I love your review. I happen to love the LOTRs but I know that it is not for everyone. I hate it when people who have no business reading the LOTRs bash it in there review and say it is “bad literature” when really they are just not fantasy people. Anyone with any since will tell you it is a masterpiece and the foundation of modern fantasy; but again, it is just not for everyone.

  4. LOTRs isn’t for me either. I’ve tried reading them 3 times I think. Every time, I just can’t get into it. I last tried about 4 years ago. I don’t think I’m going to try again. I thought I would like them because I like other fantasy but just don’t. Too detailed? Too slow? I’m not sure exactly what it is but I always want to quit reading. So I do.

    • I hear you on the too detailed.

      I wonder if I would have made a difference if we read these as kids. It seems like a lot of people read the books when they were young and have loved them since then.

  5. I understand what you’re saying about the book. I don’t know how many times I’ve tried and failed to read Tolkien’s books, though I’ll undoubtedly try again. Still, with regards to the ending, you’ve really only read one third of the novel; retailers just break it into the three releases as a matter of convenience.

    If you decide to read more fantasy later, I’d give one of Brian Jacques’ Redwall novels a shot if you aren’t familiar with them. They fall into the same category as LOTR. They are targeted at a younger audience, but in my experience they avoid all of the faults you listed with LOTR. Also, Patrick Rothfus’ “The Name of the Wind” has been satisfying for me.

    • I was just recently told that it’s all one book. I never knew that before.

      Thanks for the recommendations! I actually have Redwall and Mossflower in my To Read pile. My friend gave me her copies. I’ve never heard of “The Name of the Wind” but I’ll have to look into it.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

