Book Review: “Middleworld”

“Middleworld [The Jaguar Stones #1]” by J&P Voelkel

Genre: Middle Grade Fiction, Young Adult Fiction, Adventure, Fantasy

Source: Anastasia!

Other Jaguar Stone books

Summary from Goodreads:

Fourteen-year-old Max Murphy, video-gamer extraordinaire, is furious when his archaeologist parents cancel the family vacation to go on a dig in Central America. But things go from bad to worse when Max is summoned to join them, only to discover that his parents have vanished. With the help of Lola, a fast-talking, quick-thinking Maya girl, Max embarks on a quest to find out just what’s going on. Soon Max and Lola are running for their lives in the perilous rainforest, as they unlock ancient secrets, meet mysterious strangers, and begin to understand that, in San Xavier, nothing is ever as it seems.

Fate has delivered a challenge of epic proportions to Max Murphy. But can a teen whose biggest talent is for video games rescue his parents from the Maya Underworld and save himself from the villainous Lords of Death?

Review

Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in this heart-stopping–and funny–adventure set in the Mayan jungle.

The summary was enough to sell me on the book.  The above blurb on the back of the book made me a bit nervous though. I’m a huge fan of Percy Jackson and Indiana Jones so in theory I should love the book but I was worried that it was more of a marketing ploy than anything. Well, I gotta say they were pretty close to the mark with the blurb.

This book was a good mix of Percy Jackson and Indiana Jones. Don’t go into this thinking it’s going to be exactly like PJ though. It simply takes the idea that the old myths are actually true and aren’t simply stories. The Indiana Jones bit was all the archeology through out the story. The story did feel a bit like Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom. Both had the different cultures, stones that were very important, human sacrifices… probably more but I can’t think of them right now.

Back to the book….Man it was an adventure. The story got exciting pretty fast. The story never really slows down. There were times where I felt wiped out after reading for a bit! Does that show my age or my laziness?

The book is a middle grade book (or a younger Young Adult book) so it is a bit on the juvenile side. I found the voice of the narrator to be a bit similar to Percy Jackson. There are quite a few fart jokes and other things that are meant for younger readers. Even though the book is written for younger readers, I was still able to fully enjoy the book. It’s juvenile enough to make the story fun but not juvenile enough to turn off readers older than 12.

Max and Lola were good characters. They were strong and well developed. I really loved Lola. Can’t go wrong with a strong female heroine.

The Mayan mythology was a bit heavy. I have absolutely no background of Mayan myths so I went into the book not knowing what to expect. The authors do a good job of making it fairly easy to understand. The book is really long for a middle grade book (416 pgs) so it’s a LOT of information to take in especially with no background. There is a glossary and other tools at the back of the book for reference.

Overall, it was a really fun book to read. I can’t wait to read the second installment. Thankfully, I already have it! Now all I have to do is wait for the 3rd installment…

Side note: The authors’ website has quite a bit of information about the Mayan culture for those who are interested. They also have tools for teachers and free bookmarks for those who want them.

Rating 4/5

Highly recommended for fans of Percy Jackson and the Kane Chronicles and anyone who enjoys a good adventure.

Other reviews: Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog/ The Reading Zone

You might also like:

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Middleworld”

  1. I just went to my library website to try to reserve “Middleworld.” They only have it on CD. Not that I mind books on CD, but I just like reading better! Sometimes I really hate my library. I’ll have to request that they buy the book. That usually takes a few months. I can’t even begin to count the number of books I’ve requested that they’ve had to buy. It’s a lot! They just never have the books I want. It’s a small, poor library system.
    And thanks for the message to check on me. I appreciate it!

    • Boo for your library not having it. For what it’s worth, Amazon has pretty cheap copies and my Borders is selling it as well. [If you have one near you, check it out? You may be able to snag one for a good price with all the discounts]

      You’re welcome! :)

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

